Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Giro Stage 21 ITT Final 2012

After a long hiatus between posts, I've returned to the Giro d'italia this year to see the final time trial, stage 21 in Milan.

Many things have changed since last year, notably Alberto Contador has been stripped of his win last year and the winner is officially Michele Scarponi. A few UCI teams have merged and Matt White has successfully led a new Australian team, GreenEDGE cycling. Last year Matt was seen around during a few stage finishes and this year the team has signed many successful riders
Fumi @ Giro 2011 with The Shack attack
One of those has been Fumiyuki Beppu. He was riding for the Radioshack team last year and signed for the GreenEDGE team in 2012. He then went on to win the Japanese National road race and time trial titles

Clearly at the Giro, he had a lot of dedicated fans
The new GreenEDGE team had also been relatively successful in its first year. Below is a table of wins by the team
July edition of Cycle Sport Magazine

Show 'em who's boss...
Jack Bobridge (2011 Australian Road Race champion) next to
Brian Nygaard (ex-Saxo Bank press officer and ex-Leopard Trek General Manager)
They managed to find a title sponsor in Orica within their first year too
Orica sponsor detailing on Scott TT bike
Orica sponsor detailing on Scott TT bike

2012 Tour of Langkawi winner José Serpa
Cavendish warming up for ITT in his World Champion jersey

Taylor Phinney's BMC Time machine with pink highlights

2008 Australian Time Trial champion Adam Hansen
It was interesting to see Cervelo using rollers
without a rear wheel attached. One of the few teams
Cipollini always ever present

The final time trial was won by Marco Pinotti from BMC and Ryder Hyjedal, the first Canadian winner.